Researchers with an Estonian connection
Estonian Footprint in Space – Footprint of Space in Estonia
Ascent to Mount Ararat – 180 years later
The 54 photos by photographer and alpinist Jaan Künnap made of his ascent to Mount Ararat adorned the Museum’s White Hall in 2009. The exhibition Ascent to Mount Ararat – 180 years later is now packed up and waiting for reveal in other exhibition halls. But do not despair – all the photography and nature lovers who did not manage to ascend to Toome Hill during the winter months of the exhibition due to deep snow can now enjoy a virtual tour of the exhibition.
More than 180 years ago, on October 9, 1829, for the first time in history, a man set foot on the higher than 5000 meter peak. The peak was Mount Ararat, known from the Old Testament as the place Noah’s Ark landed. The man was Johann Friedrich Parrot (1791–1841), Professor of Geophysics at the University of Tartu and the son of Georg Friedrich Parrot, the first Rector of the reopened University of Tartu (1802). Similarly to his father, Johann also served as the Rector of our Alma Mater, from 1831 to 1834.
Parrot’s brave ascent was re-enacted 180 years later when a group of 19 Estonian alpinists reached the summit of Mount Ararat on the early morning of October 9, 2009. The physically gruelling ascent and the breathtaking views that made it all worthwhile were recorded by alpinist and photographer Jaan Künnap.
The virtual exhibition Ascent to Mount Ararat – 180 years later combines the creations of man and nature – the 13th century Tartu Cathedral and the Holy Mount Ararat on the border of Turkey and Armenia.
The virtual exhibition is the result of the collaboration between the University of Tartu Museum and Virtuaalstuudio Ltd.
From Alchemy to Chemistry – Historical Labware
The exhibition From Alchemy to Chemistry – Historical Labware showcases the oldest and most unique laboratory glassware of the Museum’s rich collections.
The University of Tartu Museum is home to over 3000 glass and porcelain laboratory items which have been used in scientific discoveries and the training of future chemistry teachers for over a hundred years. The glassware used in chemistry labs – retorts, condensers, test tubes and much more – has reached the Museum collection mostly thanks to Tullio Ilomets, UT Associate Professor of Chemistry, who began collecting historic laboratory glassware over 40 years ago.
The historic labware collection increased greatly in 2009–2010 when the Institute of Chemistry moved from the old building to the Chemicum and a lot of the glassware was no longer needed for research. The exhibition’s oldest glassware originates from the 19th century when Tartu was home to renouned chemists and pharmacists Carl Schmidt, Carl Claus, Ivan Kondakov, Georg Dragendorff, Wilhelm Ostwald and many other distinguished researchers.
The exhibition was put together by Terje Lõbu, Sirje Sisask and Maris Tuuling, design by Margot Sakson, consultant Tullio Ilomets. The virtual exhibition was put together with the assistance of Andres Tennus and Valmar Evert. The exhibition ows thanks to the Estonian Council of Gambling Tax.